Bill Morley: Happy Birthday !

WILLIAM F.E. MORLEY : HAPPY & JOYOUS BIRTHDAY !!

BIRTHDAY: SEPTEMBER 25,1920

I SINCERELY FEEL HONOURED, THRILLED AND EXCITED TO HAVE THE PLEASURE OF WISHING THIS AMAZING NONAGENARIAN DEAR FRIEND, BILL MORLEY, A HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY. MY FAMILY AND I CONGRATULATE YOU FOR CONTINUED GOOD HEALTH, HAPPINESS AND LONGEVITY.

Bill is the author of GROANS FROM OLD BONES, a wonderful book of poetry. He has also authored numerous bibliographical books and a book of haiku poems.

 

birthday-png                                                              william-f-e-morley-jpeg

In appreciation of my book review of GROANS FROM OLD BONES, Bill sent me a letter which I am happy to share with you:

Dear Mr. Dabydeen:

Before proceeding to my subject, my pen is stayed by curiosity : I don’t recall

encountering that name before. What could be its national or etymological origins?

As for the person himself, whom I’ve yet to meet, I’m flattered by his interest

in my scribbles, which I regard as the effusions of an idle mind in its last remove.

If we may judge a person by their friends, I think we may also consider their literary interests in our appraisal.

A person’s library speaks volumes, so-to-speak. On the other hand, be cautious of those who worship Caesar, in order to inhale the mere dust from their robes. An inept analogy, since I can claim not even the most distant relationship with any great Roman orator!

Once a subject of the august British realm, now a proud citizen, with Ottawa

at the helm.

That’s my civic history.

Thank you for your kind words and my very best wishes.

Bill

(written September 24, 2016)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

